zur Startseite IAP Kühlungsborn
zur Startseite der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft

Prof. Dr. Claudia Stolle

Professional experience

Since 2021Director of Leibniz Institute of Atmospheric Physics and Professor of Atmospheric Physics at University of Rostock, Germany
2013 – 2021Head of Section 2.3 Geomagnetism at GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences and Professor of Geomagnetism at University of Potsdam, Germany
2010 – 2013Scientist, Technical University of Denmark (DTU) Space, Denmark
2004 – 2010Postdoc, GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences, Germany
2003      Marie-Curie-fellow at Sodankylä Geophysical Observatory, University of Oulu, Finland
2000 – 2004PhD student,  University of Leipzig, Institute for Meteorology, Germany



2005Doctorate (Dr. rer. nat.) in Meteorologie, University of Leipzig, Germany
2000MSc (Diplôme d'Études Approfondies (DEA)) “Ocean, Atmosphere, and Environment”, University of Toulouse III Paul Sabatier, France
1998BSc (Vordiplom) in Meteorology, University of Leipzig, Germany



2021- Present"Introduction to Atmospheric Physics" at University of Rostock (winter term)
2021- Present"Specific Problems in Atmosheric Physics" at University of Rostock (summer term)
2014-2021"Mathematics I for Geoecologists and Geoscientists" at University of Potsdam
2014-2021"Earth's Magnetic Field and Physics of the Upper Atmosphere" at University of Potsdam
2011-2012"Upper Atmosphere and Space Physics" at DTU Space, Denmark


Scientific boards

2024 – presentScientific Advisory Board of the Collaborative Research Centre CRC1667 “ATLAS”
2024 – presentInternational Advisory Board, Institute for Space-Earth Environmental Research (ISEE), Nagoya University, Japan
2023 – presentSCOSTEP Scientific Discipline Representative (SDR)
2022 – presentESA/NASA Lower Thermosphere and Ionosphere Science Working Group (EN-LoTIS-WG)
2021 – presentExternal Advisory Committee, High Altitude Observatory, NCAR
2021 – presentVice-Chair of COSPAR Sub-Commission C1
2021AGU Space Physics and Aeronomy Fellows Committee (SPAFC)
2018 – presentScientific Advisory Council, Jicamarca Radio Observatory (Peru), NSF
2018 – presentBoard of Trustees, Magnus Haus Berlin, German Physical Society (DPG)
2018 – 2021Deputy speaker for GFZ’s share of Helmholtz’s POF IV Topic 1 “The Atmosphere in Global Change”
2018 – 2021Geo.X Steering Committee
2018 – 2020Daedalus Mission Advisory Group, ESA
2017 – 2021Scientific Advisory Board, Leibniz Institute of Atmospheric Physics, Kühlungsborn
2015 – presentSwarm DISC Advisory Board
2014 – 2020Deputy speaker of Helmholtz’s POF III Research Unit 1 “Global Processes”
2012 – 2018SuperMAG steering committee
2011 – 2021ULTIMA (Ultra Large Terrestrial International Magnetic Array) steering committee



2022William B. Hanson Lecture award of the American Geophysical Association (AGU) Section Space Physics and Aeronomy (SPA)
20202019 Editors’ Citation for Excellence in Refereeing for Geophysical Research Letters
Since 2016Member of AcademiaNet, Nomination by German Research Foundation (DFG)
2008/2009Fellow of the Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard-Foundation