zur Startseite IAP Kühlungsborn
zur Startseite der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft

Medium-term Dynamics

The dynamics of wave-mean flow interaction is of basic importance for the patterns of atmospheric circulation. Planetary Rossby waves govern sudden stratospheric warmings, the Brewer-Dobson circulation and other phenomena in the stratosphere, while gravity waves are important in the mesosphere. Subject of this research theme are their medium-term effects in the middle atmosphere and the associated spatio-temporal variability of the circulation in the mesosphere / lower thermosphere.


The diagnosis of the impact of Rossby and gravity waves in simulations (for example from KMCM) is important, which implies the application and further development of tools like the Eliassen-Palm flux or simplified transport models. The joint evaluation of models with observations and analyses is undertaken to identify the relevant processes.

Recent publications

  • Conte, J. F., J. L. Chau & D. H. W. Peters, 2019: Middle- and High-Latitude Mesosphere and Lower Thermosphere Mean Winds and Tides in Response to Strong Polar-Night Jet Oscillations. J. Geophys. Res. Atmos. 124: 9262-9276, doi:10.1029/2019JD030828.
  • Eixmann, R., V. Matthias, J. Höffner, G. Baumgarten & M. Gerding, 2020: Local stratopause temperature variabilities and their embedding in the global context. Ann. Geopys. 38,  2: 373-383, doi:10.5194/angeo-38-373-2020.
  • Harvey, V. L., C. E. Randall, S. M. Bailey, E. Becker, J. L. Chau, C. Y. Cullens, L. P. Goncharenko, L. L. Gordley, N. P. Hindley, R. S. Lieberman, H.-L. Liu, L. Megner, S. E. Palo, N. M. Pedatella, D. E. Siskind, F. Sassi, A. K. Smith, G. Stober, C. Stolle & J. Yue, 2022: Improving ionospheric predictability requires accurate simulation of the mesospheric polar vortex. Front. Astronom. Space Sci. 9, doi:10.3389/fspas.2022.1041426.
  • Heilig, B., C. Stolle, G. Kervalishvili, J. Rauberg, Y. Miyoshi, F. Tsuchiya, A. Kumamoto, Y. Kasahara, M. Shoji, S. Nakamura, M. Kitahara & I. Shinohara, 2022: Relation of the Plasmapause to the Midlatitude Ionospheric Trough, the Sub‐Auroral Temperature Enhancement and the Distribution of Small‐Scale Field Aligned Currents as Observed in the Magnetosphere by THEMIS, RBSP, and Arase, and in the Topside Ionosphere by Swarm. J. Geophys. Res. Space Physics 127,  3, doi:10.1029/2021ja029646.
  • Michaelis, I., K. Styp-Rekowski, J. Rauberg, C. Stolle & M. Korte, 2022: Geomagnetic data from the GOCE satellite mission. Earth Planets Space 74,  1, doi:10.1186/s40623-022-01691-6.
  • Siddiqui, T. A., Y. Yamazaki, C. Stolle, A. Maute, J. Laštovička, I. K. Edemskiy, Z. Mošna & M. Sivakandan, 2021: Understanding the Total Electron Content Variability Over Europe During 2009 and 2019 SSWs. J. Geophys. Res. Space Physics 126,  9, doi:10.1029/2020ja028751.
  • Styp-Rekowski, K., I. Michaelis, C. Stolle, J. Baerenzung, M. Korte & O. Kao, 2022: Machine learning-based calibration of the GOCE satellite platform magnetometers. Earth Planets Space 74,  1: 138, doi:10.1186/s40623-022-01695-2.
  • von Savigny, C., D. H. W. Peters & G. Entzian, 2019: Solar 27-day signatures in standard phase height measurements above central Europe. Atmos. Chem. Phys. 19,  3: 2079-2093, doi:10.5194/acp-19-2079-2019.
  • Xiong, C., C. Stolle, I. Michaelis, H. Lühr, Y. Zhou, H. Wang, G. Kervalishvili & J. Rauberg, 2021: Correlation analysis of field-aligned currents from the magnetic measurements of GRACE follow-on mission. Earth Planets Space 73,  1, doi:10.1186/s40623-021-01540-y.
  • Yamazaki, Y., C. Arras, S. Andoh, Y. Miyoshi, H. Shinagawa, B. J. Harding, C. R. Englert, T. J. Immel, S. Sobhkhiz-Miandehi & C. Stolle, 2022: Examining the Wind Shear Theory of Sporadic E With ICON/MIGHTI Winds and COSMIC-2 Radio 2 Occultation Data. Geophys. Res. Lett. 49: 096202, doi:10.1029/2021gl096202.
  • Yamazaki, Y., J. Matzka, C. Stolle, G. Kervalishvili, J. Rauberg, O. Bronkalla, A. Morschhauser, S. Bruinsma, Y. Y. Shprits & D. R. Jackson, 2022: Geomagnetic Activity Index Hpo. Geophys. Res. Lett. 49,  10, doi:10.1029/2022gl098860.


  • Christoph Zülicke
  • Erich Becker
  • Axel Gabriel
  • Mykhaylo Grygalashvyly
  • Dieter H.W. Peters
  • Tarique A. Siddiqui
  • Yosuke Yamazaki
  • Claudia Stolle